Sitting with it all

What day is today?!?? I often ask myself this question as the days sometimes seem to run together…

According to my phone today is Tuesday, and day 14 or 15 of quarantine (I think? Can’t remember;) and I am 20,780 days old, (I’ll save you from doing the math, 56 yrs 😉 You can look this up to calculate how many days you are on the internet 🙂

Ok back to what day this is… oh yeah Tuesday!

The days might seem like they run together, and time is slowing down beyond our level of comfort. I’ll admit I have had my own fair share of meltdowns and wanting my life back… but do I really?!? Wasn’t I just saying to my hubby a month ago, “If I could have 2 whole months off for vacation….. how lovely would that be?!”

When there is change that we don’t initiate on our own conscious level it can send our nervous system on a wild ride!! Our mind can run away like a run away freight train.. There’s lots of news to digest, lots of people suffering and compassion for them, and questions upon questions of how will this all play out for us?!?!……

Anytime when life shakes things up It can feel like we’re not living our own lives, and give us the feeling of living outside of our body because it’s become so uncomfortable creating this unshakable feeling of not knowing where to turn next.

The best thing we can do for ourselves is to not push away the uncomfortableness, but to allow it to be there without the attachment of fear. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying push the fear away because it’s not important, I’m offering to sit with the fear, see what it brings up.

Fear is very similar to anxiety in that it can stop us from living and put our bodies into a frozen state of fight or flight. Our nervous system overloads and our adrenals pump an over abundance of cortisol causing our minds to go into overdrive with fear and anxiety, and it becomes this constant battle of fear and anxiety that our bodies become trapped and the stress response moves into a constant state of contraction.

So how do we not get to attached to fear and all the overwhelming media posts and this constant fear of the unknown?!?….

And is there a way out of this uncomfortable place of feeling so disconnected from life? How do we acknowledge what’s happening in the world without getting so damn fearful, anxiety ridden, and feeling stuck with all of these uncomfortable emotions?!

It’s not easy I’m not going to lie, but I also feel so strongly that this is our time to step into our own awareness of how we’ve been living our lives in this same pattern day in and day out, and how this is a time to look into our hearts and to feel that this is our opportunity to be the change we wish to see in the world. See that this uncomfortable loss of life as we knew it is the great opportunity to open new doors and to welcome the thought of trusting in the process. See that we can acknowledge this fear and the unknown that’s coming up as an awakening to move beyond the cloaked wall of heavy burdened moments of uncertainty to rise into our greatest journey of compassion.

This is our time to remember that softness is the tenderness of the thought of another day. Our breath elevating us into the strength of our eternal life welcomes us to move beyond the old fears and troubles of yesterday. Tomorrow is a new elevation of awareness inviting us to breathe into it all, feel into every emotion, and see that we are no stranger to feeling uncomfortable, as it happens way more than we want it too!! Feeling uncomfortable is how we move forward, and how we evolve into knowing that we are not alone in this experience. We are all affected by this great tragedy regardless of how we’ve lived our lives, past, present or in the future, but what I know is that this is our calling to soften, let down the walls of mistrust within ourselves, and our brothers and sisters. We are all traveling together walking ourselves back home to the great life that’s being presented to us. We are all learning to trust to see the beauty of it all, hoping that the scars of fear will soon disappear, and it will all be clear that this is the great experience of love one breath at a time.

“Pran” in sanskrit means life, “Prana” means life force, and the life force of prana holds the key to the great divine awareness in each breath we breathe.

When you’re feeling a moment of fear and overwhelm try this breathwork to bring you back to your breath;

This can be done sitting, standing, laying down, or where ever you are. All you need is your breath.

Pause and close or softly focus your eyes, listen to the sweet sound of your inhale, feel it rise to bring life into your heart… Slowly blow your exhale out through your lips and feel the downward release of energy leave your body…

Continue this breathwork for 10 counts of breath, releasing with longer exhalations than your inhalation’s to stimulate your parasympathetic nervous system.

Release the breathwork after 10 breaths or longer if you wish, and notice the calming affect this breath created in your body and mind. If you still feel anxious try the breathwork again where you are in this moment, or find a space where you can get grounded and rest to the earth with your knees bent, eyes closed and 1 hand to the heart, and 1 to your belly.

Stay here at long as you need to relax into the breathwork. Your body is designed to keep you safe in these moments, and it knows how to do it, the practice is to invite the mind to follow the breath, and the body will follow.

Be well my friends!
Until next week loves,
♥️C

Published by That Girls Yoga

The practice of yoga has brought so much love into my life, so much that it is the gift I wish to share with others by teaching yoga, and sharing my experiences, and all that yoga teaches me. I’m EXCITED to be on this journey with you♥️

3 thoughts on “Sitting with it all

  1. Thank you for sharing. Yes, I keep checking my phone to verify what day it is. It’s so easy to get lost in the days since the world is at a bit of a standstill. Routines have been in shambles.

    The best thing to do is to gain back control over a lives and not allow what’s going on in the world around us to disrupt our routines. Social distancing should not be a punishment. We can use this time to reconnect with ourselves and focus this energy on our awareness, rather than focus on worrying.

    I use yoga and mediation to help me cope with my anxiety. On warm days I have been taking my yoga mat right outside to practice. It’s always nice to feel the warm sun upon your face and shoulders. And breathing in fresh air as the wind blows is always even more relaxing. When meditating the sounds of nature around me always brings my wandering mind back to my breath.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment